Superman and Supergirl Receive Eisner Award Nominations – Superman Homepage


Superman and Supergirl comics have been nominated for the 2022 Eisner Awards, with Supergirl: the woman of tomorrowby Tom King and Bilquis Evely (DC) nominated for Best Limited Series, while Superman: red and blueedited by Jamie S. Rich, Brittany Holzherr and Diegs Lopez (DC) nominated for Best Anthology.

Nominees announced for the 2022 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards

DC and Image have the most nominations

Comic-Con is proud to announce the nominees for the 2022 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards. Nominations are for works published between January 1 and December 31, 2021, and were chosen by a top-tier jury.

Once again, this year’s nominees in 32 categories reflect the wide range of material published in the United States today in comics and graphic novels, representing more than 150 print and online titles from some 65 publishers, produced by designers around the world.

DC and Image received the most nominations: DC with 15 (plus 7 shared) and Image with 14 (plus 4 shared). Leading the pack for DC with 5 nominations is night wingup for Best Continuing Series, Best Single Issue, Best Lettering (West Abbott) and both Best Penciler/Inker and Cover Artist for Bruno Redondo. History of Wonder Woman: The Amazons earned 4 nominations: Best Single Issue, Best Writer (Kelly Sue DeConnick), Best Penciler/Inker (Phil Jimenez), and Best Lettering (Clayton Cowles). For Picture, Destroy all monsters (A reckless book) earned nominations for Best Graphic Album – New, Best Writer (Ed Brubaker) and Best Coloring (Jacob Phillips). Image has two nominees each for Best Continuing Series (Bitter Root, the Department of Truth), Best Limited Series (The Good Asian Stray Dogs) and Best New Series (Radiant Black, Ultramega).

Fantagraphics has 11 nominations, dominating the Best Archival Collection – Comics category with 3 of 6 nominations and the Best Publication Design category with 3 of 5 nominees. Plus Barry Windsor-Smith’s magnum opus Monsters received nominations for Best Graphic Album – New, Best Writer/Artist, and Best Lettering. IDW with its subsidiary Top Shelf garnered 11 nominations, led by Ballad for Sophie by Filipe Melo and Juan Cavia, nominated for Best Graphic Album – New, Best American Edition of International Material, Best Writer, and Best Painter/Multimedia Artist.

With 8 nominations, VIZ Media earned 5 of 6 nominations in the Best US Edition of International Material–Asia category. Marvel Comics received 7 nominations (plus 5 shared) and BOOM! has 7 (including 3 shared). The flagship title of BOOM! is The many deaths of Laila Starr by Ram V and Filipe Andrade, nominated for Best Limited Series, Best Writer, and Best Cartoonist/Inker & Coloring.

Other publishers with multiple nominations include Abrams (with 5), Dark Horse (5), Mariner Books (5), Magnetic Press (4), and Oni (2 plus 2 shared). Fifteen companies have 2 nominations each, and another 37 companies or individuals have 1 nomination each.

Among the projects with 2 nominations are Not All Robots (AWA Upshot), Superman: red and blue (DC), Popeye: EC Seger Sundays (Fantagraphy), Bubble (First Second/Macmillan), You’re Dead: An Afterlife Anthology (Iron Circus), by Alison Bechdel The secret of superhuman strength (Mariner Books), Will McPhail’s In (Marine books), Marvel Comics Library: Spider-Man 1962–1964 (TASHEN), Lovesickness: A Collection of Stories by Junji Ito (VIZMedia), and Zom 100: List of the dead (VIZ Media).

As far as creators go, James Tynion IV has 5 nominations: 2 for Best Continuing Series (Department of truth, something is killing children) more Best New Series (The Pretty House by the Lake), Best Teen Publication (Wynd), and Best Writer. Creators with 3 nominations each include Redondo, Windsor-Smith, Melo, Cavia, Andrade, and Daniel Warren Johnson (Best Short Story, Best Limited Series for Marvel’s beta ray bill, Best Writer/Artist). 16 other creators have 2 nominations.

Named for acclaimed comic book creator Will Eisner, the awards celebrate their 34th year of nurturing and showcasing the best comic book and graphic novel publications and creators. The 2022 Eisner Awards jury includes comics writer/editor Barbara Randall Kesel, author/art historian Kim Munson, writer/editor/journalist Rik Offenberger, librarian Jameson Rohrer, from comics journalist/historian Jessica Tseang and retailer Aaron Trites.

Voting for the awards takes place online in a two-step process. The first step is for potential voters to apply at After completing the form, eligible voters will be invited to come to the polls and vote. Those already registered will be automatically invited to complete the new ballot. All comics industry professionals can vote. The deadline to vote is June 8. New voters must register before June 1 to be invited to vote. Questions about the voting process should be sent to Eisner Awards Administrator Jackie Estrada at [email protected]

The Eisner Award trophies will be presented at a gala ceremony to be held during Comic-Con on the evening of July 22.

Post views:


Comments are closed.